Main points to remember
Quirky as you like!
Lots of original chapel features
Finnish style sauna!
Next door to a good pub
Looking for something different? A split-level riverside stone chapel, with river views, created by the conversion of a large Methodist Chapel and Schoolroom, built in 1846 in the conservation area of the historic mill village of Milford, in the wooded valley of the River Derwent
This unique stone building has been skillfully converted into a large and most characterful holiday home, offering good quality accommodation, yet retaining much of the Chapel’s original character and charm, with exposed beams, some original pews, marble plaques, chapel doors, and with the old pulpit featured in the balconied lower lounge! The Chapel has its own little raised lawned garden with picnic tables and bbq. In addition, there’s a further two acres of steep woodland for the use of nimble guests, full of bluebells in Spring, reached by a very steep path from the garden
There’s an 38ft beamed & galleried lounge, a Finnish sauna-suite, fully-equipped kitchen, a wealth of bathrooms and some en-suite facilities, and an extra upper lounge overlooking the River Derwent
The area is noted for its Real Ale and there are four great pubs within half a mile, including The King William Pub, just next door. There are shops and restaurants close by and easy street parking at the chapel gate and just down the lane